Hi, My name is Nathan. My wife Lynell and I have for a long time been planning of traveling Australia with our young children, Savannah, Harry, and Rainbow.

The countdown is on and the time is nearly upon us! What was originally just a wish or pipe dream is soon to become our reality. Both my wife and I have been through a transformative process of increased spiritual and emotional awareness over the last 2 or so years and I now feel this trip will be as much about us becoming more spiritual beings, as it will be about exploring this beautiful country we now call home.

When it became real:

For me, the moment I truly knew we were going to undertake this trip of a lifetime was when we put our house up for sale. The liquidation of our assets to fund the purchase of  a caravan and suitable car for the trip committed us to the process. That was almost a year ago, and whilst we have a lot of the big ticket items sorted, there is still much to do before we leave. What for a long time seemed a long way away – is just around the corner. Nathan

Hi, my name is Lynell. 10 weeks and counting before we leave and I am just so freaking excited! I had my life all planned out, in fact, it was going much better than I planned! I married my best friend, we had 2 beautiful children – a girl and a boy, we had a nice fancy car each and a house with a white picket fence. We both had good jobs and a mortgage – just like in the movies right?

If someone had told me just over 2 years ago that in 2 years from now Nathan and I would not own a property, I would be running an online travel business instead of working in a job, I would be homeschooling/unschooling our children, I would be more spiritually aware of myself, others and our surroundings, and that for a year or so I would be traveling around Australia in a caravan with 3 children (we only had Savannah and Harry at that time) – I seriously would have laughed out loud in their face!

I am sitting here today with a mixture of emotions. I have butterflies in my belly of nervous excitement. I feel sad to be leaving our family and friends who have become like family. I feel blessed to know our children are going on an adventure many children may never experience. I feel confident in the choice we have made to homeschool/unschool our children. I feel relief we have a reliable car and caravan for the big trip – like a massive relief. I feel scared thinking about snakes, spiders, crocodiles and deadly wildlife (just being honest). I feel determined that wherever possible we eat as wholesome and organically as we can. I feel a duty to ensure that the products we use on a daily basis are chemical free and earth friendly in order to protect mother nature and play our part in keeping it green for future generations.

Most of all – I feel Grateful. Grateful to be able to share this journey with my soul mate, my best friend and our beautiful children. Grateful to be able to have the support of our family and friends. Grateful to all be healthy and able to enjoy this adventure. Grateful to have the finances to sustain our trip for however long we are destined to travel. I trust that every experience we have in life was given to us for a reason – now it is time for me to allow it all to just happen. You’ll never know until you go! Lynell

We are putting this blog together to share our experiences with family, friends, and anyone else who is interested. We hope it will inspire, educate or enthrall!